kraut atlantik

media anthropology site

yoko tawada on writing

linking to what dame marylin strathern recently wrote on writing (see previous posts) or bruno latour on quasi-objects – a ran across a text the japanese writer yoko tawada published in 1996. a small text on how to cope with computer keyboards, signs and words, described as a performative act of cultural production. leading through crisis, mal-operation, crossing issues such as myth and ritual, as well as epistemological issue of thinking in the interval.

Während ich schreibe, setze ich Buchstaben. Es hört sich etwas seltsam an, aber Buchstaben zu schreiben ist eine andere Tätigkeit als einen Text zu schreiben. Deshalb benutzte ich das Wort «setzen», obwohl ich keine Schriftsetzerin bin. Man setzt Buchstaben aufs Papier, damit ein Platz für die Entstehung des Textes geschaffen wird. […]
Buchstaben sehen manchmal nicht aus wie der stabile Fussboden, sondern eher wie Hindernisse, die mir im Wege stehen. Indem ich weiterschreibe, setze ich noch mehr Hindernisse. Ein unvermeidlicher Widerspruch: Ich setze Buchstaben, während ich schreibe.

tokio born yoko tawada moved to hamburg in 1982. inter alia she was honored with the adelbert von chamisso prize as well as the johan wolfgang von goethe medal. she currently lives and works in berlin.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

